Tell us about your symptoms and treatment experience. Take our survey here.

Corinne Miga

”HepatitisCorinne was previously an advocate for HepatitsC.net.

My name is Corinne Miga, I am a Licensed Master’s Social Worker born and raised in Buffalo, New York. I earned my Master’s degree from the University of Buffalo in the spring of 2012. For the past two years, I have been employed as a Medical Social Worker in the Immunodeficiency clinic at Erie County Medical Center (ECMC). In my role, I have the privilege of working in the HIV/HCV Co- infection clinic, offering support to patients coping with these chronic illnesses. I also assist with eliminating barriers that prohibit engagement in their medical care; this includes benefit management and navigating health insurance. Ultimately the goal of our interdisciplinary team is to provide each patient living with both HIV and Hepatitis C an opportunity for Hepatitis C treatment. As the primary Social Worker for the Co-infected patient population, I have also originated and facilitate a bi-weekly peer-based support group that provides education across a broad spectrum of disciplines including pharmacy and nutrition. I have developed a passion for working with these individuals whose resiliency inspires me every day.

I have also been an educational consultant for the AIDS Institute; I have facilitated educational courses related to HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis C, and sexually transmitted infections to community participants.

This past spring, I had the honor of attending the Caring Ambassador’s Advocates Unite! Conference in Washington, D.C. The conference gathered constituents from across the nation to meet with elected Congressman/women to gain support for the Viral Hepatitis Testing Law of 2015 (HR 1101/SB 1287). I will continue to maintain involvement as an advocate and am dedicated to the goal of enhancing prevention, education, linkage to care, and treatment for individuals affected by HIV and HCV.